🍿 Movie Log - A Scanner Darkly (2006) - ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️

An undercover cop in a not-too-distant future becomes involved with a dangerous new drug and begins to lose his own identity as a result.

A Scanner Darkly was yet another film that I was not ready to watch when I watched it almost two decades ago. I think I may have given up on the movie halfway through when I realized that the film wasn’t going to become a fast paced paranoid thriller.

I’ve become less not ready to watch it over the years, so I gave it a second viewing. And I was really moved by it.

I was moved by the hopelessness of the situation that Bob Actor and his friends find themselves in. They all know that they have almost no agency their lives. And all seem to have given up.

There’s much more to the movie… but this is what I’ve been thinking about since I watched last night.

Addendum

Here’s my Letterboxd blurb.